FROM BYSTANDER TO ACTIVITIST

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” –Matthew 5:16 (NIV)

A good friend of mine in our small group study (which we call our Connections Group) uses the term “populate Heaven.”  I latched on to it and have tried to live by it as Jesus says in Matthew 5:16. This has worked for me most of the past five years or so. It appears to have worked so well, in fact, that I once had someone at work say he “saw God in me.” I don’t say that to make me appear righteous because I’m far from it.

I write that to point out that even though that comment really inflated my ego and it was one of the greatest compliments I’ve ever received,  it’s now no longer enough. I don’t want to take a chance that the only way I’m going to lead others to Christ is by hoping that the occasional person in my life sees God in me. Unfortunately, my light is too dim too often. I worry that my beacon might be too often a lighthouse to the other side of eternity.

I’m afraid I stood by too many times while others went to hell.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.'” –Matthew 7:21

So, I’ve stepped up my activism.

Now, before I go too far patting myself on the back, let me say that I still suck. Maybe I shouldn’t say it that way but we also determined in our connections group that “stink” isn’t a strong enough word to describe our failure to do God’s will. Nonetheless, I at least get a much stronger conviction now when I know I’ve completely blown it. It now makes me mad to mess it up. My new-found activism has led me to focus on not “populating hell.”

I fear I don’t do enough of God’s will to prevent people from leading lives that take them straight to hell. Revelation’s description of hell really scares me. Not that I fear going there but I fear that my lack of Christian enthusiasm and sins of omission have given people the false sense of what the Christian life is all about. As a result, I wonder who is being tormented right now because they thought my old way of life (and the current one at times) is the narrow path to Heaven. I’m not sure if I can call myself a Christian if I don’t put my faith into action and be as passionate about other souls as I am about mine.

–Rob Denbo

About The Christian Culture

Understanding the past, present and future cultural applications of the Bible. Using that understanding to better live out Mattew 28:19-20.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

