PERSONAL NOTE

Discomfort

I’m uncomfortable.

I’m uncomfortable with the passive Christian life I’m leading. I wasn’t saved to just sit in the pew one day a week. I’m uncomfortable with people around me going to hell. I’m uncomfortable with the fact that I might be the one sending them there. I’m God’s ambassador, His missionary, His voice, and possibly the only Bible some people may read. Being a Christian is not about being comfortable. No one called by God has ever been comfortable in this world. Read the Bible a little closer if you don’t believe me. Jesus didn’t promise an easy life and we shouldn’t expect it just because we follow the creator of the universe.

We don’t live in our God’s world. God allows Satan to rule this world so, unforgiven sinners are prisoners of the enemy. As Christians, we’re fish out of water on this planet, and I’m tired of looking in the mirror and seeing me live my life in a giant school of fish swimming along in the same current leading to the great abyss of fire and brimstone. It’s like a bad sequel to Finding Nemo. I do have a Father desperately seeking me but I continue to swim away from his instruction. I committed my life to the plan of salvation so I know I’m not going to hell, but I feel like I’m still helping populate it.

What you read in this blog is not intended to necessarily be uplifting. It really shouldn’t be. I hope its motivation. It is for me and it’s one of the reasons I continue typing. I’m passed living my life to simply achieve the creature comforts. I’ve read, and listened to, the Bible and a lot of other great authors who lift my spirits and have motivated me to love, serve, and minister. The first one is a common Christian theme but we often push the last two to the back burner. Loving is not as hard as I expected with God at the center of my life, so I am thankful for the messages that motivate me to serve and minister. I need them dearly and I continue to read to be uplifted. My friends, my church, and small groups uplift me.

We all need that, don’t get me wrong, because Jesus came to earth to deliver the good news of the gospel. In that same Bible, though, I read a lot of commands Jesus gave us that I overlook way too often. He wasn’t about simply “spreading the love.” He had strong words for the first-century righteous and an even bigger mission for The Church he planted. It wasn’t just one person who got “the mission from God.” It was His twelve disciples, His larger group of followers, and every single Christian that has ever followed. We’re all in this together. We need each other. No man is an island. We are to hold each other up but, also, accountable. I’m thankful that my accountability groups, small groups, and friends now hold me accountable to putting my faith into action.

About The Christian Culture

Understanding the past, present and future cultural applications of the Bible. Using that understanding to better live out Mattew 28:19-20.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

